For those not aware, Melbourne and Sydney Cities are members of C40 cities – a network of world megacities committed to addressing climate change.

C40 Cities is chaired currently by Michael Bloomberg, Major of New York City, and is partnered with the Clinton Climate Initiative.

Membership has grown from the original 40 to now about 60 cities.

The current steering committee of C40 Cities includes the Majors of Berlin, Buenos Aires, Hong Kong, Houston, Jakarta, Johannesburg, London, New York, Seoul (the largest City by population in C40 Cities with over 25 million people in the metro area) and Tokyo.